Third World Skull Candy

One of the fun things about working at SAE Institute is having access to industry-grade studios and software for creating digital media. In my spare time, I’ve been teaching myself audio post-production techniques using AVID Pro Tools and tapping into advice and knowledge from our audio lecturers, especially Yanda, who not only is AVID trained and certified, but is from Yogyakarta and I’m pretty sure possesses magical powers, specifically the ability to dematerialize and rematerialize at will (I have witnessed this with my own eyes), but I digress.

Part of this self-education process has been to create a production project that I’m calling Third World Skull Candy, which I’ve endowed with funky graphics, a pseudo-academic-sounding rationale, and even a meta-reference to another cut-up project.

Basically, I’m building noisy, drone, ambient music from samples of my rather ridiculously large collection of third world music. Believe it or not this is something that I’ve wanted to do for a long time and if there’s a positive popular reaction, I’m considering issuing these tracks commercially… stay tuned.

In the meantime, you can stream all the tracks on soundcloud: https://soundcloud.com/drg-supreme

Or you can watch the videos on youtube, for which I’ve posted the links below (all photographs and graphic design by yours truly).

Here’s the write-up from soundcloud:

Third World Skull Candy is an occasional sound experiment by DrG Supreme in lo-fi, drone, noise, micromontage, acoustic pixelation, and the time-varying distribution of spectral energy, guided by Tom Philips’s observation ‘The sound in my life enlarges my prison’.

 TWSC tracks are built entirely from samples of obscure, out-of-print, bootlegged, pirated, downloaded, or otherwise orphaned or broken or marginal music.

Headphones. Loud. Repeat infinite.”

Next up… I’ve started creating ‘sound collages’ using field recordings that I’ve made in Jakarta mixed with TWSC samples. I’ve also started ‘treating’ soundtracks of old movies.

At some point in the very near future, my fiction writing and my audio experiments will converge into a sort of enhanced audio-book type thing that will resemble old-fashioned radio plays. That will take a lot of time and effort.

Will this sell more books? Geez, I hope so.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

MY ODYSSEY

Being Part of Our Great History...

Forgotten Films

A look at the movies forgotten by time

Bunhead

Give her food and she will conquer the world

Wonderful Cinema

Short reviews on high quality films. No spoilers.

pacificREVIEW

An annual review of prose, poetry, and artwork, published in affiliation with San Diego State University

HAJI MAJI

SCRATCHY OLD ASIAN MUSIC

Street Talk

Word on the street is...

